The Blocking Board

bits and pieces, here and there

Pig’s Status in the Engan Community

Posted by Dorish on September 21, 2010

Hi again, I have been very busy at work….ICU ward is not a place where I can just sit and put even my feet up for a few minutes. Seriously haven’t noticed the days are so fast yet am still absorbing yesterday.

I’d like to share some thing interesting with you all, for me that is…. Am kind of
nervous about it…. Well a single mother of five has approached me to help her in cash, which I have agreed since hers is a genuine request. In exchange for giving her the cash she has given me two pigs (havent seen these pigs yet).

I bought a pig early this year, and my son (Charlie named him Treasure). And now will have another two. My mother in-law has agreed to take care of these pigs.

In the Highlands of Papua New Guinea, pig is no ordinary animal for consumption. Well I don’t know about the other highlands provinces, but in Enga Province where am currently residing with my family, pig is wealth, more like an asset. They appreciate in-value as they (pig) grow older. The more pig you have, the greater status you have amongst your clan, tribe and society. It is the duty of the women to make sure the pigs are well fed and looked after. Pigs are commonly used for compensation and bride price, important feasts and gatherings…

Below are some pics i took during the killing ceremony…thats my favourate part of the ceremomy so to say…

This pig was killed purposely for my son, Charlie (who was then 3 years old) & I in 2008. It was the first time for Charlie and i to finally meet this part of our family when we made the trip up the Enga Province of Papua New Guinea.


Final product of the earth ovened pig....The Engan way.


The pig's house built just for the pigs with rooms to seperate them.

Leave a comment